Pulling Titers Instead of Vaccinating

Since I own 4 dogs, it gets quite expensive to bring all 4 in to the vet in the same month.  So I’m bringing them in one dog per month.  Instead of automatically giving them annual vaccinations, I’m asking my vet to pull Titers to see if they have immunity to the various diseases built up.  First to go in will be Mario, my sheltie.  I’m sure he’s not feeling like it will be a Happy Valentines Day, but it is necessary.

While I am concerned about my animals being over-vaccinated, I do believe they should visit the vet each year for an exam.  A good yearly exam can detect small problems before they escalate into something bigger.  My vet, Dr. Angela Ladwig at Animal Medical Center in Hutchinson, is very open to alternative medicine and they are willing to pull titers instead of just automatically giving dogs a vaccination.

I’ll let you know how it goes.  This is my first time to not automatically vaccinate so it should be interesting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

